top of page
  • Writer's pictureJordan Namba

Quarantine Experience

PCR Testing, Course Registration, & Ordering Food Delivery

2/10

  • Today I woke up early (around 7am, since I was still on Hawaii-time) and got ready to go get my first PCR test, which we must receive within 24 hours of arrival in Korea.

  • I looked up the local health center address (Seodaemun-gu Health Center, or 서대문구보건소). I used Kakao map for directions, and just walked over (20 mins). Alternatively, people in quarantine can get covid taxis, but they’re kind of expensive (about 30,000-40,000 KRW I think), so I just walked since my health center was close by.

  • I checked into the quarantine self-diagnosis app, and put in a leave request for 10am-12pm to go to get my covid PCR test at the health center, then left the house.

  • At the test center, I had to scan a QR code to fill out a questionnaire and pull a ticket for a waiting number to be called in (I probably waited over half an hour).

    • Tip: have your Passport, Notice of Isolation/Quarantine, and Restriction Order on Scope of Activities on hand (the last 2 forms are given to you during your arrival process at the airport previously).

  • After I got back to my Airbnb, I ordered delivery for the first time in Korea. Since I didn't have a Korean Credit/Debit card nor my ARC yet, I used the Shuttle app, which takes foreign credit card payments, but also has a delivery fee (usually around 4,000-5,000 KRW). I ordered fried chicken, which arrived at my door in 30 minutes.

  • I spent some time taking care of things at my Airbnb, and also logged my study abroad-related expenses and activities.

2/11

  • I got my test result back via text message in the morning. I translated it using the Papago app, and it informed me that I was negative for COVID.

  • After ordering lunch (because many restaurants don’t open up until 10 or 11am), I spent some time looking at Yonsei’s course catalog, so that I could prepare for course registration the following week.

2/13:

  • Just called some of my friends from back home, and also spent yesterday and today trying to find my classes for Yonsei's course registration.

  • Yonsei's course registration is unique from most other universities in Korea, because of their Mileage Points System. There are 3 rounds: (1) Mileage Points Bidding System, (2)First-Come-First-Serve, and then (3) Add-Drop Period.

  • The first 2 rounds take place over the course of 5 days during registration week (which takes place about 2 weeks before the start of the semester):

    • M-T: Round 1

    • W: Results from round 1

    • T-F: Round 2

  • Then, the add-drop period takes place after the 1st week of classes.

  • Yonsei emailed all students with a manual with all necessary information on courses, registration, guidelines, and regulations, etc.

2/14:

  • I went to go get my 2nd PCR test today, and I got there right at 9AM, which is when the health center opens. When I arrived, there was already more than 100 people waiting in line ahead of me, so I ended up waiting for probably an hour and a half or longer. I think it was extra busy since it was a Monday, and the test centers are closed on Sundays, so everyone who wanted to get tested during the weekend came on Monday, and also I know all of the Yonsei dorm students had just arrived and were getting their 1st PCR tests that day as well.

  • When I got back home, I started my course registration, which had opened at 9AM that morning. I figured out how many points (out of 72 mileage points total) I wanted to allot to each of the 4 classes that I wanted to take, by looking at the historical mileage results and the rankings of each class on the Yonsei's course catalog portal. I added the classes that I wanted to my wishlist, then applied.

  • There’s no submit button, so after applying your mileage points to the classes you want to take, you can still edit the amount of points allocated or cancel your application to the classes. I believe the classes will only be submitted at the end of the 1st round of registration period, which is 5PM KST the following day.

2/15:

  • Today, I cleaned my room and bathroom at my AirBnb, and also did my laundry.

  • I also double-checked my classes, making sure I applied for the right sections and times.

2/16:

  • First day of freedom from quarantine! Was very very cold today (-12°C with the wind!).

  • I went to go get my vaccination registered at the health center, but I arrived at lunch time, so they told me to come back in an hour (many Korean establishments take lunch breaks from 12-1pm).

  • In the mean time, I went to a nearby 7-Eleven (since convenience stores won't check your vaccination proof), and I bought some household essentials, filled my T-Money card, chilled outside with my hot coco for a little while, and then walked back to the health center.

  • The actual process of getting my vaccination proof paper only took 5-10 mins. They also gave some instructions about my vaccination proof, as well as a note with my vaccine management number on it.

    • Note: This vaccination proof paper is no longer required for people to have.

  • I went home and submitted a petition to Shidler for another spare business course equivalent for my course registration, but turns out, I didn’t need to because I ended up getting into all of my classes from the first round!

  • The rest of the day, I ordered some food from shuttle, and watched some more of “All of Us Are Dead” on Netflix.

  • Later that night, I took out my orange trash bags, which were given to me by the health center to use throughout my quarantine.


Some pictures from my walks to and from the health center.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page